Programme 2010

The first UK Conference of Science Journalists took place on Friday 23rd July 2010 at the Royal Society in London. The programme of the day is below.


09:00- 09:30 Registration and coffee

09:30 – 10:30 Opening Plenary: ClimateGate: Were journalists asleep at the wheel?

Speakers: Myles Allen (University of Oxford), Tom Clarke (C4 News), Oliver Morton (The Economist), James Randerson (The Guardian), Professor Robert Watson (Chief Scientific Advisor, DEFRA). Chair: Gabrielle Walker (writer, broadcaster).

10:40 – 11:40 Parallel sessions 1 and 2

  • 1: The Future of Genomics (part 1)
    Speakers: Mark Henderson (The Times), Daniel Macarthur (Blogger and Scientist at Wellcome Trust Sanger Centre), Dr. Christine Patch (Guy’s Hospital, London), Dr. James Brenton (Cancer Research, UK) and Alison Hall (Project Manager, PHG Foundation).
  • 2: Meet the Editors
    Speakers: Robin McKie (Observer); Kim Shillinglaw (BBC); Graham Lawton (New Scientist), Mark Peplow (Nature), David Rowan (Wired UK), John Travis (Science-International). Chair: Jacqui Thornton (freelance journalist).

11:45 – 12:45 Parallel sessions 3 and 4

  • 3: The Future of Genomics (part 2)
    Speakers: See Part 1
  • 4: Straight Statistics
    Speakers: Nigel Hawkes (Straight Statistics)

12:45 – 14:00 lunch

14:00 – 15:00 Parallel sessions 5 and 6

15:10 – 16:10 Parallel sessions 7 and 8

16:10 – 16:40 coffee

16:40 – 17:40 Closing Plenary: Is free news killing good science journalism?

Speakers: George Brock (City University), Martin Robbins (The Lay Scientist), Joanna Geary (Web Development Editor, The Times),  Chair: Jeremy Webb (Editor-in-Chief, New Scientist).